14/51 – Peter Pan

We are embarking on this great experiment of watching all 51 Walt Disney Studio Animated Features before the 52nd, Wreck it Ralph, is released this fall.  Our last installment was Alice in Wonderland.  As we watch, we’ll make note of our thoughts or comments, write them down, and post them after. Aaron’s comments are in blue.  Whtiney’s comments are in this pinkish hue.  Anything in black is a quote or will help reference what was on the screen at the time.

Feature: Peter Pan
Release: 1953
Viewing: Platinum Edition DVD

 

Brought to you in advanced Disney Home Theatre Mix

I love Peter Pan.

Me too.  This is probably the one the I have seen the most times.

Why?

Because I used to watch it with kids I babysat a lot.  Amanda is upset that we haven’t put up Alice in Wonderland yet.  What if she is upset that we are doing this one and we haven’t put up that one yet?

Oh well.

The mermaids are so mean to Wendy.

All these credits are at the beginning. 

There’s a handful more that are like that I’m sure.

Have you read the book?

Yeah – you lent it to me.

That’s right.  It’s required reading to marry me.

I love Nana.

Me too.

I want a Nana dog.

That’s just like something my dad would do. (Mr. Darling knocks over the blocks stacked by Nana.)

Poppycock.  That’s a word that should come back.

Poor Nana.

No not the blocks.  Oh no.

I like how all that stuff happens to him (the dad) and they are like  “poor nana”.  That’s just what we would do to my dad growing up.

It makes me want to cry.  (About Nana being forced outside.)

It turns out okay for her in the end.

Did they leave them without a babysitter?

I guess so, because Nana  is outside.

In the live action one their aunt is there, right. 

Yes.

There he is.  I like his theme music.

Me too.  I always wanted to learn how to play a pan flute because of this movie.  But I never did.

There’s Tinkerbell. 

Oh vanity, vanity.  (Tinkerbell looking at her self on the mirror on the vanity.)

I’m glad he doesn’t cry in this one like he does in the book. 

He’s too cocky to do that.

Yes.  Well he is in the book too, she just catches him.

“Girls talk a lot.” That’s the truth.

“Well, get on with it girl.” – That’s my favorite line in the movie. 

This is the first time a boy played Peter Pan. 

Faith, trust, and a little bit of Pixie dust.

How did Disney make all those fairy things with Tinkerbell when they don’t even call her a fairy in this movie  – just a pixie.  Do they ever call her a fairy? (referring to the relentless Tinkerbell merchandise, and direct to video movies being churned out)

I don’t know.  Good point.

I always wanted to fly. 

Yeah.

I would play Peter Pan when I was a kid and pretend I was him.

There it is.  I like Mr. Smee.

Yeah. 

I like when he accidentally shaves that bird.

I don’t think they could say “redskins” today.

No…you can’t really say “indian” either.  You have to say “native americans”.

But they aren’t native americans – they’re from Neverland.

Poor guy. 

He gets shot.  Captain Hook just murdered somebody.

Poor bird. 

Tinkerbell is so mean in this.  Why do they want all the little girls to be like her?

I’ve always wondered how that water is like that – opposite of the lost boys in the hide out.   See?  (there is a strange shot of them under the tree with some lost boys that look like they are underground, but in water?)

Yeah.  I don’t know – because it’s underground, I guess…but that still doesn’t make too much sense…

Fairies don’t know.  They only are big enough for one emotion at a time.

Oh no.  (The boys getting stalked by a tree…filled with the indian tribe about to ambush them)

They won’t listen to him.

Poor Michael. 

Maybe they’ll learn their lesson and leave the Indians alone.

Poor Bear (getting dragged along).

Mermaids!

Peter Pan is good with the ladies – or at least the half-ladies, half-fishies.

Those mermaids aren’t very nice.

Poor Tiger Lily.

Princess Tiger Lily is never included in the princess line-up.

I love Peter Pan – he’s so clever!

I never quite understood why he had that little dagger and Captain hook had that big sword. 

I guess he didn’t want to carry around a big sword while he’s flying.

I guess.

He forgets things like I do. 

He saves her at the last minute.

I never got that before really.

What?

That Smee wanted to get to sea because of the “women trouble”.

They said “pixie” again.

Smoking of children – I mean children smoking…

Right.  Big difference. 

Poor Wendy.  Learning her place again.  (She can’t dance – has to get the firewood).

I guess I never got that before either.  (Saying “ugh” when the indian saw his mother in law).

It’s a trap. 

Oh no.  This is where he drops the bomb!

All the pirates start crying.

I forgot about Smee’s tattoo (that says “mother”)

I want to play the pan flute.

Peter Pan will save them. 

No splash!

That’s two people Captain Hook has murdered.

Smee is the smart one (making off with the loot)

Nobody calls him (Peter Pan) coward.

I like that crocodile.  He’s patient.

I like the part when the ship goes.

Yeah, it’s so pretty. 

It’s like at Disney world in the ride. 

I’m still not ready to grow up and I’m 29.

I don’t want to grow up, I’m a Toys’R Us kid…

Yeah…

Where’s John and Michael?

Back to sleep I guess.

Did they show them?

Not at the very end.

Oh .  I like this movie. A lot.

The end.

 

 

 

Leave a comment