6/51 – Saludos Amigos

We are embarking on this great experiment of watching all 51 Walt Disney Studio Animated Features before the 52nd, Wreck it Ralph, is released this fall.  Our last installment was Bambi.  As we watch, we’ll make note of our thoughts or comments, write them down, and post them after. Aaron’s comments are in blue.  Whtiney’s comments are in this pinkish hue.  Anything in black is a quote or will help reference what was on the screen at the time.

Feature: Saludos Amigos
Release: 1943 (USA Premiere)
Viewing: “Classic Caballero Collection” DVD

What does Saludos Amigos mean?

Hello friends!

Why didn’t they just say Hola Amigos?

It means “greetings friends!”

When did they start having credits at the end of movies?

I don’t know.

“What is Lake Titicaca?”  From Groundhog Day.

It’s animated and not animated?

Yes.

Were kids supposed to like this?

I guess.  It was a movie that was made to build relationships between the US and Mexico and other southern countries.  Before then there wasn’t really anything.

Who’s narrating it?

I don’t know.

Is it Walt Disney?

No.

Look.  Kuzco.  (Llama drawings on screen)

This is Donald Duck’s first time on the big screen.  Well, in a feature I mean.

Oh.  I like him.

I want to learn how to play the pan flute.  It’s true.  I do.

Okay…

I don’t know what to say during this little movie.

What do you mean?  Is it too bizarre?

It’s like they are trying to make a documentary fun?

Yeah, sort of I guess.

I like Donald Duck though.

Is that him?

Who?

Walt Disney?

No..

I wonder if they went back and watched this movie to make that new Pixar movie – Planes that’s coming out.

I’m sure they didn’t.

Does it really have a face on it (the mountain)?

I have no idea.  I doubt it.  But maybe.  I suppose you’d have to go back and watch the Walt and El Grupo documentary.  It was on Netflix for a little while but I don’t think it is anymore.

Oh Pedro the plane.  Nobody remembers you.

I never even knew about him.

Oh no.  He lost the mail.

Oh goodness.  You’re stuck on a rock!  (To Pedro…on the tv…)

He’s out of gas.

Does he die?

I don’t think they can kill a baby plane.

See.  He brought the mail.  Wow.  What a great plot.

Are you being sarcastic?

Ooh.  Buenos Aires.

So random.

No, no.  Not really.  You’re talking of South America.

There’s Walt Disney right?

Yes.

He’s smoking!

Well he can.  He’s not Goofy.

What’s that white girl doing there (dancing)?

Learning how to I guess.

Wow.  I like seeing them draw.

They can just draw it.  Just like that.

There’s Goofy.

Is this his first time ever?

What do you mean?

Has he been animated before?

Yes.

This is where it’s edited.  He’s not smoking here.  They just erased the cigar basically.  Because kids can’t see Goofy smoke.

That would be the downfall of a hero.

My phone’s ringing.

Who’s calling you at 11pm at night?

Can we eat like that?

Sure.

Aw.  Poor bird.

I don’t think that’s really Goofy singing.

It’s not.  Not like in the Goofy Movie at least.

Oh.  Clever.

Oh.  There’s the gag.  (A record player, with Goofy mouthing the words.)

Now to Brazil.  Or Brasil as they spelled it.

Oh goodness.  He’s smoking too.

I wonder if any of these people are still alive and have this movie or if they were excited they were in a Disney movie.  Because not many people are in a Disney (animated) movie.

Watercolor of Brazil.

Cool.

It’s a fun song.  I have no idea what he’s singing.

Donald!

Joe.  The parrot.

They are so happy to meet each other.  Are you sleeping over there?

No.

It’s a short movie you shouldn’t fall asleep.

I’m not asleep.

Well Joe is fun.  And you are sleeping.

No. I’m not sleeping.

You’re eyes are closed.

They are open.

No they were not.

Why does he get to smoke and Goofy doesn’t?

Yeah.  That’s not fair.  Maybe it’s like in Pinocchio where it’s not good right here…

Maybe it’s cultural.  I don’t know.

Even though it’s just a drawing I want to go there.

Mexico.

That was Brazil.

I know but…I don’t know.

‘Cause you’re asleep.

Well that was the end.  A very short, short, animated feature.

What did you think?  That was your first time seeing it.

I didn’t like it very much.  Maybe I’ll like the next one better.  Did you like it?

Um.  It was different.

2 thoughts on “6/51 – Saludos Amigos

  1. Pingback: 7/51 – The Three Caballeros | The Beginning of Always

Leave a comment