Engagement Day: Whitney’s Story: Part One

Let the adventure begin...

Let the adventure begin...

Below is Part One of Whitney’s Story, on August 8th, 2009.  These events take place between 6:30 am and 8:45am.

I will start by saying that when I left Aaron on Friday night after our date, I had Saturday all planned out in my head.  I was sleeping in, driving to his house at 11:00am, having lunch, going to a birthday party, and going to Journey.  I went to bed that night and slept very well, until about 6:30 Saturday morning…

So, my dogs started barking and my head shot up to see Aaron Jack Bauer opening the door to my room and walking right in.  I immediately checked the clock, thinking I had overslept…a lot.  But, it was only 6:30.

“What are you doing here?”

“How did you get in here?”

He came and laid down with me, which took away all of my questions for a minute.  He was there, and that was all that mattered.  Because when he’s with me, everything is right.  I wasn’t going to question it. I didn’t want to wake up if it was a dream.

But, wait, why in the world was Aaron in my room at 6:30 in the morning?

“Do my parents know that you’re here? How did you get in?”

“I don’t know. They’re asleep. I took your key one day when you weren’t looking and made a copy. I put it back before you noticed.”  He said all of this with his charming little smirk.  He can get away with anything when he looks at me like that.

So, I stopped asking questions and enjoyed having an amazing, handsome guy as my alarm clock for the day.

At 7:30am, my parents started stirring downstairs.  He hopped up.

“You’re going to be in so much trouble! I can’t believe you let a boy in your room with your parents right downstairs!”

I just smiled.  He was up to something.  I went to brush my teeth.

My mom came up and offered Aaron some coffee.  (She doesn’t bother to ask me. I don’t like it. Because coffee is hot. It burns my mouth.)

So, we went downstairs and sat in the kitchen with my parents, like it was the most normal thing in the whole world.  I played along.  It did feel normal.  It felt right.  But, what was he even up to?

He kept looking at the clock.

“Not quite time yet.”

Finally, he takes my hand and tells me to go upstairs.  We go up to my room.  He kisses me and gives me a hug.

“We are going to have a very big adventure today.”

“Oh yeah?” I asked.  (See, I knew he was up to something.)

“Yes, and you will definitely want to take a shower.”

“What should I wear?” (Who even knows what we would be doing. It’s an Aaron plan.)

“Whatever you want.”

I told him what I was going to wear that day…

((You see, a couple weeks ago I wore a t-shirt.  It was very out of the ordinary.  Aaron said he liked it.  So, I wore another t-shirt a few days later.  He liked that one too.

I said, “Apparently, you like when I wear t-shirts.  That’s weird.”

He said, “Yeah, I guess I do.  Why is that weird?”

“You are always dressed so nicely.  You don’t wear t-shirts.  So I don’t either.”

“Well, I like them.  It’s a different look for you.”

“Oh.  Well, I will try to buy more t-shirts then.”

All that to say, my mom bought me a new t-shirt while we were in Tennessee.  I had told him about it, and I was very excited to wear it on Saturday.  I was going to wear it with my gray skirt.  I thought it was a cute outfit, and I knew he would like it.))

“That’s perfect. Now, go take a shower and get ready.”

“You’ll be here when I get out, right?”

He paused for a couple seconds.

“You will see me when you get out.”

That satisfied me enough. As long as I would see him…

I took a shower, and my mind was racing.  Maybe we were going to the beach.  Maybe downtown for something.  Maybe today he was going to…nope, that couldn’t be it.  There’s no money.  No time to talk to my parents yet.  And that makes him nervous.

It will be a good day no matter what.

I got out and got dressed.  I was trying to hurry to not keep him waiting, but I wasn’t rushing.  I was excited.  I love days with Aaron.

I finished straightening my hair, grabbed my jacket, turned to walk out the door, and stopped in my tracks.

There was something on my mirror.  It was a note in dry erase marker in Aaron’s handwriting.

Youtube.com

Search:  elementalmania

Video:  For Whitney

What the crap?

I got my computer and looked it up.

He was gone.  And, apparently, I was going on a scavenger hunt.

Now, at this point, I knew what was happening.  I knew he was going to propose.  But, you must understand that Aaron likes to play games with me.  He messes with my head (in a good way).  So I am hesitant to let myself fully believe this is happening.  I am not going to think about that.  I am not going to get my hopes up.  I am going on a scavenger hunt.  This will be fun.  And at the end of it all, I will meet my boyfriend.  And that is good enough for me.

I did panic about packing a bag.  He was so vague.

“MOM!!!”

I freaked out and now I was really rushing to just get out the door and on my way.  I threw all of the contents in my bathroom in a bag.  All of my laundry was dirty from Tennessee.

“I don’t have a fancy dress!  The only dress I have is for Bethany’s wedding!”

“Wear that.”  (Sorry, Bethany.  But, thanks! J)

I put everything I needed in a bag and grabbed the camera and money from Aaron.

I started to walk towards the stairs, but stopped and turned around to my parents.

“Do you guys know what’s going on?”

“I don’t know anything,” said my dad.  (He is usually clueless, so I had to believe him.  I love my dad.)

My mom wouldn’t say much.  I knew she knew, and I also knew it was killing her not to tell me.  So I left her alone.

I loaded everything in my car.

And the adventure begins…

2 thoughts on “Engagement Day: Whitney’s Story: Part One

  1. this is so much fun! i am such a romantic I love reading stories and best of all love stories and yet even better than that, a love story about two good friends!

Leave a comment